The Law Society was officially created in 1846. The Provincial Legislative Assembly adopted Chapter 48 of the Provincial Statutes which in effect incorporated what was then called the "Barristers' Society" for the "purpose of securing in the Province a learned and honourable legal profession, for establishing order and good conduct among its members and for promoting knowledgeable development and reform of the law".

While the name of the organisation has changed and is now the Law Society of New Brunswick, its original mandate has remained essentially the same.

It is important to note that the Law Society is an independent body, which has as its primary responsibility the protection of the public in the administration of justice.

The Consolidated Law Society Act, 1996 sets out clearly the objects and duties of the Society.

They are as follows:

(a) to uphold and protect the public interest in the administration of justice,

(b) to preserve and protect the rights and freedoms of all persons,

(c) to ensure independence, integrity and honor of its members,

(d) to establish standards of education, professional responsibility and competence of its members and applicants to membership, and

(e) to regulate the legal profession.

To accomplish the above, the Society has established rules, committees and procedures, details of which appear under the section Regulation. You can also go to our FAQ or conduct a search for the information you seek.


Source: "The Law Society of New Brunswick: An Historical Sketch", published by the Law Society of New Brunswick, 1999.